Sands in the hands

Does it feel like Sands in the hands?

You reach where you

Always wanted to be

You do everything you

Always wanted to do

And then suddenly

It feels like sands in the hands!!!!!!!!!

Why did I do this?

What was I

thinking all the time?

It doesn’t feel

The way I

thought it would!

And it all feels like

Sands in the hands…

You try to grip it hard

And it just slips all off

You panic

And hold it tighter

And it drains through

All the sieves of Hands

And it was all sand

That you were

Chasing all along!

Does it feel like sands in the hands?????????

How many times have we worked really hard for something we thought we always wanted and when we finally achieve our set goal, we realize that it wasn’t something that made us happy! And then we set another goal and the cycle continues, in the pursuit of happiness. May be it the way it was supposed to be or else we would all be too satisfied in what we already have and may not thrive for more and better (of course definition of better is as per the individual perceptions).

It is just food for thought…. think about it and share your thoughts with me.

Trying to kick-start my blog on https://vatsalasinhablog.wordpress.com so thought will pick up a poem from my older blog (which still exists) as a first post for this new one! Old is Gold as they say.   

 

Author: vatsalasinha

An author, Doctor and a mother who struggles with learning mothering her preschooler, as he learns to be a child. In all a person exploring life, it's beauty and meaning as I try to keep my nose above water to survive challenging times and enjoy beautiful moments. I love to write about everything and anything, especially about feelings; your's, mine and anyone's. I recently published my first fiction and to me it's an achievement to be able to write with an insistent and clingy toddler screaming in my head for attention as I write and stare at my screen with sleep deprived eyes in those dark nights; with the melody of snores and music of perseverance ringing loud and making me keep going.

9 thoughts on “Sands in the hands”

  1. I know this feeling all too well. Love your thoughts and expressions. I was pursuing a goal and dream and realized too that did not bring me happiness. So turned around, made a few life changing decisions and started making a blog for my writing. Amazing how much our words can bring total strangers together. A very lovely blog you have here.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your wonderful words! I completely understand the feeling of chasing a dream only to realize that it didn’t make us happy! I left a few dreams after reaching the final point and now pursuing another one, hoping that this might make me happy 🙂 sadly sometimes dreams that make us happy may not feed us 😉 (haha…on lighter note) but I am glad that we could connect here!

      Like

      1. Interesting! A different perspective and interpretation. But for me while writing it, the futility of achieving goals is what raised questions in my mind. For me, often, I would achieve the goals or things I have aspired for and then I would wonder if all that effort was any worth? Hence the next goal changes accordingly and the journey goes on… but of course anything can be seen in pessimism and optimism depending upon their own personal life experiences.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

