Why do I write?

Writing for me is a way of life that started long ago, even before my memory could store it to be recalled. A poem on a torn page of a notebook as a kid, gushing patriotism when on the brink of a war, blooming romance in teenage being hidden in secret diaries and gushing love for the new child; everything perfectly preserved on some moldy papers, to be revisited in back alleys of memory someday.

This is one romance I can’t break up with.

Before I even learnt to write, my first love turned out to be as reading anything and everything. That first love shall never change as even when I write, reading what I wrote and other’s write is the pleasure that I look for.

Often writing my own mind on a piece of paper or a device and re-reading it is what I found to be therapeutic.

Be it a one liner or a page full of prose, a paragraph or a few hundred pages of a book….. I have always been writing. In the back of my notebook as a kid or in the notepad of my phone now… I have always found writing to come to me easier than speaking the same things out.

Sometimes to escape the boredom of a not so engaging lecture and often to flee in a world away from reality, writing has always been the most liberating experiences for me. Often times when I couldn’t reach out to a loved one verbally, then writing a note or a letter has come to my rescue.

An outburst of anger, a lava of emotions and a bubble of happiness can all be dealt with a few moments of  break from reality and few scribbles on a piece of paper. Re-read it and let the rational mind take over it.

Sometimes a quick burst of rage or an acute attack of suicidal thoughts, loneliness in an empty room or claustrophobia in a jam-packed hall, a break from everything had been possible by simply typing my mind out… be it on paper or a simple text message sent to no one.

When finding someone to talk to, became more difficult with age and professionalism, child rearing and immigrating to a new country, alienating friends and busier schedules, the extrovert in me turned over to paper and pen to pour in my heart and mind, anguish and pain, pleasure and compassion. This is the way the introvert in me has merged in perfect synchronization with the extrovert me. I read to soak in and I write to pour out… a perfect way to feed my two personalities, the one that wants to be left on my own and the one who craves to jump in to talk and discuss for hours.

Yes, I would like to write few more pages right here, but sometimes words don’t need to be stretched out and also being an extrovert, I love to hear too!

So, WHY DO YOU WRITE?

You can comment here or write in your blog. Pour your heart out!

And don’t forget to use #WHYDOIWRITE  and link it here, so that we all can read.

 

Author: vatsalasinha

An author, Doctor and a mother who struggles with learning mothering her preschooler, as he learns to be a child. In all a person exploring life, it's beauty and meaning as I try to keep my nose above water to survive challenging times and enjoy beautiful moments. I love to write about everything and anything, especially about feelings; your's, mine and anyone's. I recently published my first fiction and to me it's an achievement to be able to write with an insistent and clingy toddler screaming in my head for attention as I write and stare at my screen with sleep deprived eyes in those dark nights; with the melody of snores and music of perseverance ringing loud and making me keep going.

2 thoughts on “Why do I write?”

  1. I write for some of the reasons you mentioned in your post – when cries fall on deaf ears, when the ones you want to talk to have moved on in their lives, or when you are so lonely that you don’t really want anyone to know. I have recently begun writing and it has been purely therapeutic. I say safely say that I’m falling in love with writing and reading other blogs. #WHYDOIWRITE

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hello,

    I checked out the blurb of your book and love it. From the blurb it seems that yours is a high quality book. In case you are interested in book promotions, book reviews, author interviews, kindle downloads, etc., please email me at pluxedo AT gmail.com to get screenshots and samples of my past client work

    Like

Leave a Reply

